Posted by: tedmikulski | December 7, 2009

Art Critique Rashmi Talpade

Before I start I want to say that my first run at a critique (David Flood), yielded some wonderful email back and forth.  It was a clear indication that these critiques are interesting in and of themselves.  They are of course only one mans opinion, but I think stirring anonymous and unbiased conversation is something that most artists do not get the chance to generally partake in.

Continuing with the critiques, I wanted to touch on an artist whom I discovered through Artspace New Haven, Rashmi Talpade.  Now Robert Rauschenberg was never really my cup of tea.  His collage work was something that I do not necessarily prefer to that of the paintings of say Poons or Motherwell.  Collage work has never really touched any artistic nerves of mine.  That is of course until one day I stumbled upon the following ink drawing:

Still Life 1

My affinity for ink drawings has always been high, ever since my first years of college.  This particular work has the chaos and complexity that I look for in ink work.  Truth be told, it takes a great deal of talent and insight to produce something of significance in one tone, which is why ink is no where near the same level on the totem pole as painting.   However, this work is one of the exceptions.  Now of course after seeing this work and its three-dimensional complexities, I tackled the artists webpage.  My hope was that I would see more of the same, considering there are several other ink drawings on her ArtSpace page.  Instead I was directed to the large majority of this artists work: collages.

Urban Decay

Traffic

Unfortunately for my insatiable desires, ink drawings are not really what this artist is about.  It is clear from these works that the ink drawings are merely a formality to the rather impressive nature of the collages.  As impressed as I am, I of course have my reserves… much like any critic.  The are extremely busy.  They tell often a singular story without holding to the true nature of a collage.  They are also interactive, where each cutout is meant to work with another in order to tell an overall story.
Regardless of these seemingly negative aspects, it is my opinion that these negative aspects are what make the work so special.  She obviously has enormous talent at deciphering space.  Something that many artists lack.   This artist has paved the road of collage for me.  The chaotic beauty is a reflection of urbanism and perhaps her past or surrounding environment.  It is with this understanding of her surrounding environment by which she really thrives.
Most of all, I admire her clear disdain for focusing on one aspect of art.  Both her ink drawings and collage works are mastered and I do believe I will be updating and checking in on all her future work.

Responses

  1. We have corresponded concerning your views of my art as stated on this wonderful, expressive blog of your ideas and work. In the spirit of our discussion I thought I’d share my views.

    In my first response, I suggested that the “natural” art of the type I do is not that of a “seeker” any more than what a jeweler does by taking raw gem stones, cutting and mounting them and so forth is “seekery.”

    And in reference to your use of quotation marks when referring to me as a “sculptor,” I suggested that the use of such notation implies doubt of a sort. I think most people regard Brancusi’s “Torso,” from a “found” piece of wood as sculpture, not “sculpture,” to give one example from thousands possible.

  2. Nice review, you should send it around to folks.
    Now do me!

  3. Hi Ted,
    Sorry it took me so long to respond. In my defence I had no idea this write up about my work even existed. I stumbled upon it while looking up my uploads to another site actually and you should know that I am very excited to read a bonafide critique of my work. Please keep in touch and I hope to share some of my new works with you in the near future.
    Thank you
    Rashmi


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,825 other followers

