Posted by: tedmikulski | September 5, 2011

Double Vision Opening at Iona College

In February of this year I had a solo exhibition at Iona College.  I was extremely proud of that show and it was extremely successful from my perspective.  After that exhibition, I was offered the rare opportunity to actually curate the opening show  for the 2011-2012 season.  I jumped at the chance and came up with a show that I had wanted to try for a while.

Back in 2010, the Freight Street Gallery in Waterbury, CT had a show called LIMBO.  This show had an open call to artists to start a work and then by random selection, finish one of the works.  The result was very intriguing to me.  So I took this concept and went with a more hands-on approach.  So I selected 10 artists from New England and New York to participate in the show.  Some I’ve known for years, others I’ve never met.  All have exciting aesthetics and I knew would be fun to work with.  They were asked to start 2 works and then to finish 2 works for different artists.  An amazing array of work came in and an equally amazing array of finished works were completed.  The show opens this Sunday (Spetember 11th, 2011).  Here is an example:

This work was started by Dave Estes...

...and finished by Erica Harney

As you can see, the results are amazing.  Come see the 19 other collaborated pieces at “Double Vision: A Collaborative Experience” opening at Iona College on Sunday September 11, 2011.  Opening reception is from 1-3pm and food and beverage will be provided.  Hope to see you there! directions

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,824 other followers

