Posted by: tedmikulski | August 3, 2012

Free Art Project: Days 1 and 2

It has been a very interesting couple of days.  To catch you up to speed, I am in the middle of giving away over 1,000 pieces of my original art on the streets of NYC.  So far, I have hit Midtown Center, and Chelsea with surprising results.

Image

Image

My initial reaction: I can’t believe how many people say no to a free piece of art. Granted, this is Manhattan.  My wife, who went to NYU, told me that if she was a student and I approached her, she would have ignored me too.  If I can put it into numbers, I have approached about 800 people so far and given away about 220 pieces of art.  

Image

 

There have been some amazing interactions with those that will actually stop and look. People cannot believe that there is no catch and many actually wait for me to give a pitch about donations.  I have had kids try to grab 10 from me, and tourists trying to give me cash. It has been an amazing journey so far, and it has really just begun. 

I have also had about a dozen people track me down through Twitter and find me in the city.  Follow me @TedMikulski for all the details about where I’ll be and how to find me for your free piece!

Lastly, I want to stress that this project is limited to these 10 days.  After August 10th, I will no longer be giving my work away for free, so get your hands on it while you can!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,825 other followers

